Linen and Hemp

IMG_2947There are so many weaving drafts out on the internet, whether through social media or dedicated websites it’s overwhelming at times. Some people like to “design” their own weaving drafts – and I have weaving buddies that do some incredible designing. My needs are pretty basic ( and on an 8 shaft loom). Most times I can take a basic pattern and just by the choice of fiber make it a different animal.

So, to feed my fascination with negative space, floats, and squares, I played with the pattern posted here.  I found it on either Facebook or Pinterest or maybe someplace else – at this point I couldn’t tell you because I can’t remember!  (That is why documenting as you go is so important.) But I had some hemp that I wanted to play with, and this seemed like the perfect draft.

I never seem to follow drafts exactly – and not always on purpose.  Since there was such a difference in texture between the hemp and the linen, I opted for a single color warp and a single color weft. 16/1 linen, sett at 24 ends per inch.  It wove up pretty nicely, except for when the hemp just loved to unroll off the bobbin without stopping.  Kinda like driving on ice. Afterwards some weaving friends mentioned that keeping the bobbin damp would help prevent that in the future. But none the wiser at the time, I persevered, and voila – here is the finished product, after a soak and a tumble.

IMG_3182

After an overnight soak in fabric softener and another tumble, it came out significantly softer. Since it is only about 57 inches without the fringe, I went ahead and steam-ironed it straight, leaving the fringe au natural.  It’s a fun scarf, and I am sure I will get a lot of use out of it in the desert.  At some point I will be using this same pattern again, only I want to block the colors as they are in the draft – that would pop the pattern out.  And if I use multiple textures again, it certainly will furl up and maybe then I’ll leave it in a bumpy state.

About vairarenbeth

Just another person on the planet earth. My name is Claudia, but I am also known as teacatweaves, and teacatweaver. An escapee from the corporate grind, my husband and I are in a new phase of life. Now I read, weave, spin, urban hike, knit, make bread and pasta from scratch, and discover new and exciting things to my heart's content. One sweet dream is a reference to the Beatles - "...Soon we'll be away from here, step on the gas and wipe that tear away. One sweet dream - be true..."
This entry was posted in fiber arts, Weaving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.